My Parisian Affair

PARIS. I have always been in awe of this exquisite city. The romance (to the extent that my wedding was even Paris themed), the beautiful people, the culture, basically everything. So of course, Paris was the most awaited part of our holiday. We arrived to cold, rainy weather and paid an exorbitant taxi fare to our hotel (yes, we fell prey to being scammed tourists). But, nonetheless our hotel was nothing short of amazing with its little balcony and amazing view of the Eiffel Tower.

20150104_164015

Needless to say, the balcony quickly became my morning tea spot and somehow I found the cold rather refreshing.

 20150103_161559

Watching far too much TV had resulted in me daydreaming about being at the top of the Eiffel Tower with my husband declaring his undying love for me, walking hand in hand with him through the streets of Paris and eating copious amounts of crepes and macaroons. Aaaaah such simplicity and bliss. All that was needed was French accordion music in the background and I’d say my daydreams were straight out a movie!

20150104_121041 20150104_115009

So did Paris really live up to all the romantic, cultural hype created in my mind? NO! Because it blew my mind and was so much more than I ever daydreamed about.

And so our Paris experience began with a busy agenda (oh how touristy of us). Kiss under the Eiffel Tower. Visit the Louvre. Eat macarons from Laduree. Shop at Champs-Elysees. Go for a midnight stroll along the Seine. Visit the Palace of Versailles. Attach a lock to a love bridge. Eat crepes and croissants from street cafes. And so much more.

20150104_131325  20150104_211638

Oh and on the bit about my husband declaring his undying love for me at the top of the Eiffel Tower. That didn’t happen. Given his fear of heights, the events at the top of the Eiffel Tower unfolded with me declaring my undying love for him and comforting him whilst he felt like he had lost his ability to walk. Well, for all my efforts up there, I was rewarded with a crepe. All in the name of love!

20150105_135615 20150105_154008

Map in hand, we walked and walked and walked. Stood in queues at tourist highlights. Ran across roads in an attempt not to get knocked. Bought art from street vendors. Got the flu. And ate our hearts out.

20150105_133117 20150104_120051

And in all honesty, Paris in all its beauty was a dream come true which I cannot believe I got to experience (even though it was just 4 days). What I brought back with me, besides the clothes and trinkets, was the best of memories created with my favourite person on the earth. I couldn’t have asked for more really.

20150105_160636 20150105_160415

2 thoughts on “My Parisian Affair

  1. I couldn’t stop smiling while reading this post, because you sound so much like me. Paris is a world of its own – I fell in love the moment we arrived, and even after two weeks, it was sad to leave. Husband joked that he wouldn’t mind working as one of the guys selling little souvenirs at the touristy spots, so we could live there! While that didn’t materialise haha, we did return a year later for our tenth anniversary… And I’d go every year if I could! 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

