Cocktail Glamour

I’m always excited to receive invites in the mail. This time was no different. Of course I am excited at the prospect of attending an elegant event. Well, until I get to the dress code. And that’s where my issues begin.

Issue 1 – I am one of those people who don’t really know what cocktail attire means. Issue 2 – How does one dress winter appropriately and still pull of cocktail attire. So you guys now understand my dilemma. Black tie, white tie, semi-formal, business, business casual, smart casual, casual and then you still get cocktail! All these vague sartorial rules and regulations are enough to make my head spin.

  _DSC0974

And so naturally, I think black. You can never go wrong with black. And typically, I’d say a LBD would be ideal, however I am in Johanneburg and the evenings are pretty chilly. And I decided to put a little spin on cocktail attire. The outfit shall be elegant, dressy and weather appropriate. Tailored pants and a long sleeved waterfall coat teamed with statement heels and metallic accessories. Whether or not this actually equates to cocktail attire, I still have no clue. But in all honesty, I do feel fabulous. Isn’t that what individuality is about after all.

_DSC0969 

Waterfall Trench – Zulu Lulu

Tunic – Bershka

Pants – Forever New

Belt – Zulu Lulu

Clutch – Aldo

Shoes – Aminah Jillil

Happy Midweek readers!!

Much Love

xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

